3 Weeks!

6 Aug

We’ve been in Jacksonville for three weeks now so I’ll give you a quick summary of what we’ve done since we got here. 

We moved into a furnished corporate apartment until we could find a place of our own. We anticipated being here a minimum of two months as we thought the house hunt would take at least a couple of weeks. But that’s not how I roll.  I found our house in 4 hours.

I had scheduled four showings with our realtor for the first Monday we were here.  I only needed three. I fell completely in love with the third house I saw. Done. Perfect kitchen for me, yard for the dog and a garage for the husband. Sold. You would think Jacob would be happy. You would be wrong. He gave me two fairly simple rules for house hunting: 1. It must be in budget and 2. Under no circumstances was I to fall in love with a house because “we have to be willing to walk away”.

As I said before, I often have to disregard what he thinks.

Luckily, he couldn’t argue with the house since it was within budget and had everything we’d asked for. Although, I think he did spend a few anxious days anticipating the fit I would throw if we didn’t get MY house. Oh yes, it was MY house from the minute I saw it. Jacob kept correcting me…THE house. No. MY house.

So I found the house on Monday, showed it to Jacob on Wednesday, put in an offer on Friday and had a signed contract by Sunday. ‘Cause I’m good like that.  We’ve had the home inspection and are now just waiting to close on the 24th.

 Otherwise, Jacob has been working and I’ve been getting schooled in the finer points of day time television. We went to the Alligator Farm in St. Augustine last weekend but that’s a whole other post.

Leave a Reply

