Sweet

15 Aug

I have a sweet tooth. This is not news. When we go to dinner and the waiter comes at the end of the meal and asks if anyone wants dessert everyone turns to me. And the answer is always yes. I tried giving up sweets for Lent once….massive fail. Like cake, Krispy Creme and cupcakes all in one day kinda fail. (BTW…does anyone know what happens when you fail Lent? Is there some kind of divine punishment coming to me for my sugary sins?)

Breakfast is my favorite meal because it’s the one time it is absolutely ok to eat dessert for your meal. Giant cinnamon bun covered in icing? Don’t mind if I do. Pancakes covered in sugary sweet syrup? Yes, please.

Back in Charlotte my favorite breakfast came from the Bakery Shoppe across the street from my office. Once a week I stopped in on my way to work to pick up a chocolate croissant, a cinnamon bun or a giant muffin (I miss you, banana nut muffins!) The owner and I? We were tight.

So since we arrived in Jacksonville I’ve been on the lookout for something similar.  Fail. Where are the bakeries?

 I turned to Google, who never lets me down. Google does not want me to find a bakery. I appreciate Google’s concern for my waist line…but I want a bakery. I just need to know where to go to get my fix. (I get a little grumpy when I can’t get my sweets…unsurprisingly my husband has asked me to never give them up again.)

Google keeps giving me Publix, Panera or wedding cakes. Cake is good…but I don’t need three tiers and sugar roses. I just want a cheese danish! And yes you can get these at Panera and Publix,and they’ll do in a pinch, but they’re not the same. They’re just not on the same level of yumminess as something from a bakery where all they do is bake things.

My husband told me to try one of the “five thousand” bakeries we’ve seen. I gave him the “What have you been smoking?” look.

So until Google decides to give up the goods, looks like Panera and Publix will be feeding my addiction.

On the other hand…Jacksonville certainly has it’s fair share of cupcake bakeries. We’ve seen at least three or four (maybe these are the bakeries he’s talking about?), and wouldn’t you know, someone conveniently put one down the street from our apartment. (Which I just found today. And am planning to visit tomorrow. I’ll let you know how it goes.)

Leave a Reply

