Posting about not posting

17 Apr

I have a constant inner monologue going (everyone does, don’t they?). And ok, I’ll admit it, sometimes mine turns into a dialogue (this does not make me crazy…don’t tell me you’ve never argued with yourself…don’t you have a conscience?…I’m normal…really…maybe….no?…ok, crazy it is).

And no, this monologue does not always stop when I’m talking to you. If I’m just smiling and nodding, I’ve probably tuned you out because the conversation in my head is more interesting. I told you, I find myself quite entertaining.

So anyway, when I lay down at night my mind is usually still racing through 50,000 (yes, really, 50,000) things and jumping from one completely unrelated subject to another. Somehow, I am able to organize these random thoughts into entertaining and somewhat witty blog posts. In my head. When I get up in the morning and attempt to put them here….I got nothing. NOTHING. At all. Not two sentences, not two words.

Now, because I have yet to find the mute button for my inner monologue, I often have trouble falling asleep. This is why, if you open any cabinet or drawer in any bathroom of my house, you will likely find multiple boxes of Benadryl and NyQuil (I like to be prepared). And yes, I know they make pills specifically for sleeping, but NyQuil and Benadryl don’t contain warnings that I may eat or drive in my sleep. My driving record is not the greatest when I’m awake…sleep-driving could be bad. Or possibly an improvement.

Perhaps this is why the posts I write when I’m trying to fall asleep seem good at the time…everything’s funnier when you’re medicated. Especially if you add a little wine. Which I do.

Anyway, the point of this was to tell you that I TRY to post more often. Really, I do. Sadly, I have yet to find the meds that cause you to sleep-blog. On the other hand, it’s been less than three weeks since my last post….so….Yay me!

Leave a Reply

